“Murphy Brown” Officially Canceled By CBS

Candice Bergen, Tyne Daly, Faith Ford, Joe Regalbuto, Grant Shaud, Jake McDorman, and Nik Dodani in Murphy Brown

CBS has axed the Murphy Brown revival.

The network has canceled the Candice Bergen-led revival despite creator Diane English hopes for another season.

Season 11 of Murphy Brown saw Bergen reprise her role as the famous investigative journalist and TV anchor. She reunited with her old gang: Corky Sherwood (Faith Ford), Frank Fontana (Joe Regalbuto) and their former news producer Miles Silverberg (Grant Shaud).

According to TVLine over its 13-episode run, which wrapped up in December, it ranked last among CBS’ eight sitcoms.

The revival made its return to the screen almost 20 years after the original run ended. During its original run it won 18 Emmys, three Golden Globes, two DGA Awards and two WGA Awards.