HBO Renews “Insecure”

Yvonne Orji and Issa Rae in "Insecure"

HBO has renewed Insecure for a fifth season. 

The premium cabler announced the renewal three weeks and three episodes into season four after premiering on April 12. 

Insecure was created by Issa Rae and Larry Wilmore. It is executive produced by Rae, Prentice Penny, Melina Matsoukas, Michael Rotenberg, Dave Becky, Jonathan Berry, Amy Aniobi, and Jim Kleverweis.

“We’re thrilled that Issa, Prentice, and the whole Insecure team will be getting back together for a fifth season,” said Amy Gravitt, executive vice president of HBO Programming. “As we laugh and cringe with recognition, their stories make us all feel a little less alone in the world.”

Rae also stars in the show alongside series regulars Yvonne Orji, Jay Ellis, Natasha Rothwell, Amanda Seales, and Alexander Hodge.