“Everything Everywhere All at Once” Cements Its Domination at 2023 Independent Spirit Awards

Michelle Yeoh in
Michelle Yeoh in "Everything Everywhere All at Once"

Independent Spirit Awards returned to Santa Monica just a week ahead of the Oscars and set the tone for what’s left of the awards season. Everything Everywhere All at Once cemented its status as the No. 1 front-runner after making history with seven wins.

Everything Everywhere scored eight nominations in seven categories at this year’s Spirit Awards, and it managed to come out victorious in all of them. By doing so, it made history as the most-awarded film in the ceremony’s history, and it also managed to win the best feature, beating the likes of Women Talking and Tár.

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert picked up trophies for directing and writing this film, while Paul Rogers was named the best editor. It was also a big night for the film’s acclaimed cast, with Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, and Stephanie Hsu all picking up awards in their respective categories.

Several TV shows were also honored at this show, after Independent Spirit Awards introduced the TV categories three years prior. Most notably, The Bear walked away with two trophies, including the best new scripted series and best supporting performance for Ayo Edebiri.

The 38th Independent Spirit Awards returned to their usual location at Santa Monica Pier, California on March 4, with Hasan Minhaj hosting the show.


Best Feature

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance

Michelle Yeoh
Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Quinta Brunson
Abbott Elementary

Best Director

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All at Once

John Cassavetes Award

The Cathedral
Writer/Director: Ricky D’Ambrose
Producer: Graham Swon

Best First Feature

Director: Charlotte Wells
Producers: Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski

Robert Altman Award

Women Talking
Director: Sarah Polley
Casting Directors: John Buchan, Jason Knight
Ensemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter

Producers Award

Tory Lenosky

Best Breakthrough Performance

Stephanie Hsu
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Someone To Watch Award

Nikyatu Jusu

Best Cinematography

Florian Hoffmeister

Best Editing

Paul Rogers
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

The Rehearsal
Creator/Executive Producer: Nathan Fielder
Executive Producers: Dave Paige, Dan McManus, Christie Smith
Co-Executive Producers: Carrie Kemper, Eric Notarnicola

Truer Than Fiction Award

Reid Davenport
I Didn’t See You There

Best New Scripted Series

The Bear
Creator/Executive Producer: Christopher Storer
Executive Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior, Hiro Murai
Co-Executive Producer: Rene Gube

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

Best Screenplay

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best First Screenplay

John Patton Ford
Emily the Criminal

Best International Film

Director: Saim Sadiq

Best Supporting Performance In a New Scripted Series

Ayo Edebiri
The Bear

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Director/Producer: Laura Poitras
Producers: Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John Lyons

Best Supporting Performance (Film)

Ke Huy Quan
Everything Everywhere All at Once